When Jitendra Prasada challenged Sonia Gandhi for Congress president’s post

Finishing the suspense, Rajasthan leader minister Ashok Gehlot showed lately he’s going to contest for the Congress president’s post.

Gehlot is prone to face Congress MP Shashi Tharoor within the upcoming presidential polls.

As in keeping with NDTV, former Union minister Manish Tewari and previous Madhya Pradesh leader ministers Kamal Nath and Digvijaya Singh also are mulling attempting their success on the hustings.

Additionally, Gehlot has showed no Gandhi member can be within the fray for the Congress leader’s post.

The Rajasthan leader minister, who used to be in Kerala to enroll in the Bharat Jodo Yatra, stated Rahul advised him he needs a non-Gandhi on the helm.

“I requested him multiple times to accept everyone’s wish that he returns as Congress President. He told me he had decided that no one from the Gandhi family should become the next chief,” Gehlot used to be quoted as pronouncing via PTI.

With the Gandhis out of the fray, the presidential election has set the level for a main who does now not belong to the circle of relatives after 24 years.

The ultimate time Congress held a right kind election to elect its leader used to be in 2000 when past due Jitendra Prasada challenged Sonia Gandhi.

What had took place within the 2000 election? What number of non-Gandhis have held the Congress leader post after Independence?

Let’s have a look:

Sonia Gandhi vs Jitendra Prasada

The election used to be a foregone conclusion.

The anti-Sonia sentiment used to be rising amongst senior Congress leaders together with Sharad Pawar, PA Sangma and Tariq Anwar, who rebelled towards her in 1999.

They believed she may now not be a possible top minister candidate because of her inexperience and Italian descent, as in keeping with India Lately. The leaders have been ousted from the birthday party.

Following their absence, Rajesh Pilot and Prasada carried at the riot to grasp keep an eye on of the birthday party from Sonia Gandhi. Quickly when they started their marketing campaign towards her, Pilot died in a automobile mishap in June 2000, leaving Jitendra Prasada by myself to pursue the combat.

Prasada, who filed his nomination for the Congress president post on 29 October, met with consistent resistance from Sonia Gandhi’s supporters.

His effigy used to be torched out of doors the AICC headquarters at 24 Akbar Highway each and every afternoon via Sonia’s loyalists, studies India Lately.

Senior Congress leaders didn’t wish to be related to the person who had challenged Gandhi.

Then Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha contributors Begum Noor Bano and Sujan Singh Bundela and (former) Rajya Sabha MP Gufran Zaidi have been the one ones who weren’t afraid to ‘openly identify’ with him, as in keeping with India Lately.

Jitendra Prasada had challenged Sonia Gandhi in 2000 for the Congress leader post. Symbol Credit score: Twitter/@SaurabhRaii_

Prasada, who used to be then the member of parliament from Shahjehanpur, were given some aid after (now former) Central Election Authority chairman Ram Niwas Mirdha introduced the election could be held via secret poll.

After this, his marketing campaign accumulated some steam as his supporters have been ensured they wouldn’t be pressured via Congress leader Sonia Gandhi’s loyalists.

The assault at the ‘coterie’

As in keeping with India Lately, Jitendra Prasada’s recreation plan used to be to focus on the “much-hated” coterie round Gandhi.

Coterie referred to a small staff of folks allegedly influencing Sonia. The primary coterie incorporated Vincent George and Arjun Singh, whilst the opposite one had leaders reminiscent of Oscar Fernandes, Madhavrao Scindia and Ambika Soni, India Lately reported.

“Coteries are a cancer that eat into the vitals of all political parties – we must save the Congress from them,” Prasada used to be quoted as pronouncing via BBC.

Secondly, Prasada advised transparent of any direct assault on Sonia Gandhi.

Significantly, none of Prasada’s supporters doubted Sonia’s inevitable victory. However with the election, their goal used to be to painting her as a “factional” chief, as in keeping with India Lately.

Whilst Sonia’s facet’s ballot technique used to be to provide her as a ‘liberal democratic leader’.

The outcome

Sonia Gandhi simply trounced Jitendra Prasada via bagging 7,448 votes towards his paltry 94.

Reacting to the effects later, Prasada had advised India Lately, “After giving me an innings defeat, my sight possibly makes her (Sonia) feel reassured. The match was fixed behind my back, but I don’t claim that I would have won if she’d played it straight.”

Congress’ non-Gandhi presidents

The ultimate non-Gandhi Congress president used to be Sitaram Kesri who served from 1996-98. He used to be axed from the highest post after the grand outdated birthday party’s electoral defeat in 1998.

Sonia Gandhi, who succeeded Kesri, has been on the helm since 1998, handiest to provide method for her son Rahul who served because the Congress president from 2017-2019.

An inventory of different non-Gandhi Congress presidents post Independence:

A lost battle When Jitendra Prasada challenged Sonia Gandhi for Congress presidents post

Congress has had a number of non-Gandhi presidents sooner than 1998. Graphic: Pranay Bhardwaj

Pattabhi Sitaramayya served because the Congress leader from 1948-49.

Purushottam Das Tandon had a brief tenure because the Congress president in 1950. He had quickly resigned from the post following variations with Jawaharlal Nehru.

UN Dhebar held the Congress leader post for 4 years from 1955-59.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy used to be appointed to the highest Congress post from 1960-63. He used to be additionally the 6th President of India.

Referred to as the ‘kingmaker’, Ok Kamaraj used to be the Congress president from 1964-67.

Siddavanahalli Nijalingappa, the primary Karnataka leader minister, used to be the ultimate president of the undivided Congress birthday party. His tenure lasted from 1968-69.

Jagjivan Ram, the deputy top minister to Morarji Desai, labored because the Congress president from 1970-71.

Shankar Dayal Sharma used to be the Congress leader from 1972-74.

Devakanta Barua, identified famously for his commentary ‘India is Indira, Indira is India’, used to be the Congress leader from 1975-77.

PV Narasimha Rao, the 9th High Minister of India, served because the president of the grand outdated birthday party from 1992-96.

With inputs from businesses

Learn all of the Newest InformationTrending InformationCricket InformationBollywood Information,
India Information and Leisure Information right here. Practice us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Source link

Posted on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.