Here’s how the Congress president will be elected

Shashi Tharoor is more likely to face Ashok Gehlot in the upcoming Congress presidential election. PTI (Record Photograph)

As Rahul Gandhi stays reluctant, the fray for the Congress president submit is more likely to be between celebration MP Shashi Tharoor and Rajasthan leader minister Ashok Gehlot.

Ashok Gehlot, who was once reportedly requested via celebration period in-between leader Sonia Gandhi to contest for the best Congress submit, met Rajasthan Congress MLAs Tuesday night time to suggest that he would run for the election in case Rahul Gandhi does now not, as in keeping with Indian Categorical.

Gehlot informed the MLAs he was once a “loyal” Congressman and would meet Sonia Gandhi on Wednesday. He added he would additionally go back and forth to Kerala to satisfy Rahul Gandhi, who’s main the celebration’s Bharat Jodo Yatra there, to persuade him “one last time” to contest the Congress president election.

The improvement comes an afternoon after Shashi Tharoor met Sonia Gandhi, who as in keeping with media reviews gave him a inexperienced sign to throw his hat in the ring.

A celebration chief informed Indian Categorical that the period in-between leader has confident Tharoor she would “stay neutral” in the upcoming presidential polls.

In the meantime, Congress normal secretary KC Venugopal informed journalists that Rahul Gandhi will come to a decision if he will contest the election, including that he “has not told us anything”, News18 reported.

With the notification for the Congress president election due on 22 September, let’s take a look at the ballot agenda and how the celebration leader is elected:

How is the Congress president elected?

The grand previous celebration’s president is elected via Indian Nationwide Congress (INC) delegates.

The Congress charter defines INC delegates as “all members of the Pradesh Congress Committees (PCC)”.

As in keeping with News18, there’s a delegate in keeping with block in every state. The blocks, which can be notified via the executive, in all the states have other numbers of PCC delegates.

The INC delegates elect the Congress president from the nominees. As in keeping with Article XVIII of the Congress charter, “any ten delegates may jointly propose the name of any delegate for election as president of the Congress.”

The chairman of the Central Election Authority (CEA) is the ex-Officio Returning Officer for the presidential election, who publishes the names of all applicants for the celebration leader submit.

Nominees have seven days’ time to take again their names and after the withdrawal, the checklist of the closing applicants is distributed to every state unit of the celebration (PCC).

If just one candidate stays after the withdrawal, then that individual is asserted the Congress president.

Shashi Tharoor vs Ashok Gehlot Heres how the Congress president will be elected

As in keeping with reviews, Sonia Gandhi has given a inexperienced sign to Shashi Tharoor to contest for the Congress president submit. PTI Record Photograph

If there may be multiple candidate left, then every INC delegate votes for his or her most popular candidate. In the case of simplest two applicants, the delegates make a choice from them.

If there are greater than two applicants, the delegates have to say a minimum of two personal tastes on the balloting paper.

The counting of votes is finished via the Returning Officer.

The candidate with greater than 50 in keeping with cent of the first personal tastes votes turns into the Congress president.

Consistent with ThePrint, the electoral school has about 9,000 PCC contributors lately.

Who’re PCC contributors?

Each Block Congress Committee elects a delegate to the PCC via secret poll.

PCC contributors additionally encompass ex-presidents of the state devices who’ve finished a complete time period of three hundred and sixty five days and feature endured to be contributors of the celebration, in addition to presidents of the District Congress Committees (DCCs) who aren’t eligible to grow to be both president or secretary of the PCC.

Shashi Tharoor vs Ashok Gehlot Heres how the Congress president will be elected

Ashok Gehlot is more likely to struggle the Congress presidential election if Rahul Gandhi does now not. PTI Record Photograph

Additionally, AICC contributors who live in the state, contributors elected via the Congress Legislature celebration (CLP), and contributors appointed via the PCC govt from “special elements not adequately represented” as outlined via the regulations of the Operating Committee of the celebration also are PCC contributors, as in keeping with the Congress charter.

Congress president election dates

After the notification for the Congress presidential election is out on Thursday, applicants can report their nominations from 24 to 30 September.

The closing day to withdraw the nomination is 8 October. After withdrawal, if want be, then elections will be hung on 17 October.

The result of the Congress presidential election will be declared on 19 October.

Previous Congress presidential elections

In the previous 40 years, the election to the Congress submit in a real sense has been held simplest two times.

In 2000, Jitendra Prasada had challenged Sonia Gandhi for the best submit. Sonia had clocked a large win with 7,448 votes in opposition to Prasada’s 94.

In 1997, Sitaram Kesri had a landslide victory in opposition to Sharad Pawar and Rajesh Pilot.

Since 2000, Sonia has been at the helm unopposed, simplest to present approach for her son Rahul who was once the Congress president from 2017-2019.

With inputs from businesses

Learn all the Newest InformationTrending InformationCricket InformationBollywood Information,
India Information and Leisure Information right here. Practice us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Source link

Posted on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.